Paprikash of Slow-Cooked Lambs Hearts

Source: Paprikash of Slow-Cooked Lambs Hearts

Oh my gosh!  This looks yummy…. but since I have pork hearts, they will have to do. 😉

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For those that might think this is gross, [I mean it’s hearts folks] this can be a really tasty food source and it usually MUCH cheaper than other cuts.  I have seen recipes that call for flash frying like you can do with livers, but I seriously recommend low and slow cooking to get the most out of heart meat… it is a giant, well used muscle and can get super tough if you don’t cook it right.

Any animal heart can be used for cooking, the squeamish will not be able to handle them I would imagine, but for those willing to brave meat that looks like an organ, these can be used for long cooking soups, stews, braised dishes, or my favourite is simmered in a spiced brine and then eaten warm at dinner or cold in a lunch the next day.

Cut them up or leave them whole, hearts on the menu can be less daunting than you imagine… Are you brave enough to try?

Posted on Jan 31, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Paprikash of Slow-Cooked Lambs Hearts.

Comments are closed.