Flash Fiction #20

FF-20

I have paid my fare to ride the wind.

As the machine begins to rise,

My heart beats a little faster.

The forward momentum begins like nothing more than a merry-go-round.

Speed grows slowly at first,

Like a child I cry out inside… Faster! Higher!

The tone of the machine changes,

The force of gravity pulls at me and I swing outwards.

I close my eyes and imagine I am flying,

The wind in my face and the feeling of moving through space fills me.

Holding out my arms I embrace the sensation.

Too soon I fall back to earth….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Go to Rochelle’s Addicted to Purple site and try out using her Wednesday photo as a prompt to write a 100 word story.

Posted on Sep 24, 2015, in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. you captured the experience and the feelings of the ride quite nicely. Well done.

    Like

  2. A sort of free verse. Well done. 🙂

    Like

  3. This describes the feeling perfectly, that’s why I love these rides. Good story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

