Flash Fiction #3

I have been a constant presence in some of the smartest clubs over the years, even held pride of place.

I have witnessed great men gather; kings of commerce, political giants, lords and dukes even. Heard them discuss great things, secret things, important things. I have been entrusted to silently hold witness to the moving, the shaking and the parties held in their back rooms.

When the owner of the last club died, his family took me in and I was so grateful I wasn’t cast aside as so many of my compatriots had been.

My great days are gone…

 

Go to Rochelle’s Addicted To Purple Blog, and use her Wednesday photo as a prompt to write a complete 100 word story.

Posted on Jul 20, 2014, in Flash Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. ohh the poor little ram..

    Tina from The Sunny Side of Life

    Like

  2. Dear Ryl,

    Kind of sad.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  3. Really enjoyed this – the dignified, reflective tone. And the sad assumption that self-value comes only by association. Well done.

    Like

    • Sandra…

      It is interesting you would say that… I had a more old world mindset attached to this and forgot that many would see it with the more modern ideals.

      Glad you enjoyed it

      Like

  4. I agree with what Sandra said, and can “hear” the old world tone in this piece. Lovely combination.

    Like

  5. Lovely voice in this. There is so much more to learn from your character too. The reader is left to dream and wonder.

    Like

  6. I had missed this. Sorry! Well done. 😯

    Like

  7. Ryl, Lovely story. At least he was retired with dignity, finding a home. I did sense the old world feel of it. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    Like

Leave a Reply

