What a week…

It started out great and then fell into a foggy, painful, frakkin’ mess you feel like when you get sick…

Last Tuesday was magic day for me…  What is magic day?  That fantastic day every 8 weeks that I get my IV to keep my pain levels under control and allows me to live a somewhat normal-like life for at least the first 6 weeks until the treatment starts wearing off.  So a week back, I travelled the highway to the clinic in Ingersoll and had my treatment and came home to rest and enjoy the relief it brought.

Wednesday was General Meeting here at our co-op.  This was one of the reason’s I rested the day before, as President of the board of directors, I had do my best to be there.  2 hours from start to finish with a 10 minute break, far better that we expected.  Everything approved and passed with only minor opposition to anything proposed, Huzzah! & Hallelujah!  The only downside to this meeting as far as I was concerned was the fact that 2/3 of the people who came to the meeting were smokers and half went out the back door, the others out the front and the wind swirled around dragging in their second hand cloud from not only the doors, but the windows as well.  I was well and truly surrounded and knew I was going to suffer for it.

Wednesday night I took allergy & pain medication, my inhaler and went to bed early hoping to kill the allergy attack before it became a major problem… Apparently my body didn’t get the brain’s memo about not getting sick, I woke up Thursday morning feeling like I had a major hangover with a sinus blockade to boot – Yuck!

Some folks in the general population will tell you they get allergy colds, but like stomach flu, there is no such beast.  You either have allergies or a cold, or even both, but allergies do not create a cold.  They CAN create cold-like symptoms though and that is what gets these folks so confused.  I started out with what I was certain was a severe allergy attack.  I mean if you combine the spring allergens starting early due to warm temperatures plus that 10 minute cigarette fogging I got on Wednesday night, I figured it was a given.  Well it seems that I may have graduated to having both over the weekend as the allergy medication I was taking was no longer gaining me any substantial relief, my coughing and hacking attacks had progressed to the point I was nearly popping ribs, my wheezing was getting no relief from my inhalers and then yesterday I started with the 2 symptoms that separate a severe allergy attack from a cold – fever & body aches –

I called in the reinforcements, or more accurately my folks.  My brother works the midnight shift and I was hoping to beg a loan of some of OTC medication and get it dropped off on his way past my place as he headed for work.  They didn’t have much themselves and what they had, they needed, so I was prepared to suffer another night when muffled conversation at the other end resulted in being told my dad was driving out right away to hit the store before it closed to get me some.

  Well colour me stunned and more grateful than you can say! 

This morning I woke up for the first time in days NOT feeling less like death warmed over… after a sound beating with garden hoses and bongo drums pounding inside my head.  I am still coughing, hacking and generally aching all over from the abuse my body was/is taking, but I have some relief and hopefully this will work it’s way gone in another week and I can get on making the most of my good days and this early spring.

∞♥·♥∞

Posted on Mar 27, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. savorthefolly

    I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.