My Crafty Self

I am an artsy-fartsy type of person… really.  Even in the midst of bouts of pain, fatigue and other health issues, my sanity is maintained by the joy of being able to create lovely pieces of wearable art, handy household goods, hand-spun yarns, jewelled trinkets of various sorts, etc.

GranmaLadybug [she’s my mom] will entertain you with the story of the years I whinged that I couldn’t anything special like she did.  I didn’t get the hang of crochet until in my early 20’s, but by my mid 20’s I was designing patterns for crochet.  Late 20’s was the cross stitch years, when any fabric was a potential canvass.  Early 30’s was when the spinning wheel arrived in my live and now suddenly I was spinning my own yarn from wool, mohair, alpaca, llama, silk, cat & dog fur even… I was suddenly this crafty little maven & my mom was often heard chortling in glee over this turn of events, both in teasing me and in being quite proud of the skills I had been able gain and become accomplished at.

So I went from feeling like such a failure to suddenly creating stuff like these:

Shawl GBS3 Brown Shawl  Shawl GS4 Green Shawl Shawl BS5 Blue Shawl Shawl BS4

Shawl RDS3 Red Stole/shawl OCT 2011-7 Hand-Spun Yarn

So you can see that I went from nothing to something pretty decent in a matter of a decade.  In leaping stages I went from whiny adolescent to accomplished woman, meh to mighty, clueless to crafty…. well you get my drift.

If you follow this link to my WEBSHOTS album, you can see more of the stuff I’ve done [a few things are done by friends and are posted in the interest of making sales].  You will also find beeswax tea light candles in that album GranmaLadybug makes those and they are YUMMY!

Used to do a local farmer’s market, but when they got a blast of ego that they could compete with the fellow market in the next city and cranked the rents, I stopped that.  Now I do online, little monthly markets and a few shows a year, but that doesn’t stop me from using my craftiness as therapy and continuing to create lovely things.  Shawls are my original ‘signature item’ when I started to sell my stuff and over the years I branched  out, a bit of this, a bit of that, a bit of razzle-dazzle too…  Last year I decided to trim down the list of things since I don’t do the big market and don’t need such a big variety of stock to make the sales.   Shawls are once again my signature item on the knitting/crochet column of my inventory and it feels good.

So if anyone out there is all interested, now you know a little bit more about me and the kind of things that turn my wheel…

Posted on Jan 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I didn’t just nominate you for a Versatile Blogger award and you know why. You can thank me later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

